Testimonials


In one word: PERFECT!!! We booked a room at the Ravilious to see our son, his wife and our grandsons who live and work in the UK. The last time we came we noticed this beautiful house with RAVILIOUS written on it. So we investigated and decided to book a room in this B&B for our next stay in Eastbourne. Everything was perfect: Warm welcome from Caroline and Chris, big bedroom very nicely decorated, very good breakfast with all you need to begin a wonderful day. Everything was perfect even the weather...
Claudine and Patrick. Belgium. Feb 2022.


Perfect location, gorgeous hotel, fab hosts. Faultless! Fabulous weekend stay at this gorgeous, perfectly located boutique hotel. Spacious room, tastefully decorated and wonderfully clean. Lovely hosts who were really attentive without being intrusive. Delicious, generous breakfast felt like a real treat. Highly recommended - we’ll be back!
Erica- Mar 2022


An excellent address with attentive hosts, we will come back for sure! Caroline and Chris are particularly welcoming, smiling and attentive hosts. Their house is splendid, with neat decoration and impeccable cleanliness. To start the day, their breakfasts are excellent and varied Eggs Benedict and Full English with farm eggs, Smoked Salmon... In short we loved Chris’ food and Caroline’s lovely service. The room and bathroom comfortable and very clean, ours being on the 3rd (which is not a problem) Chris kindly offered to carry our suitcase when we arrived. Our 4 night stay at Caroline and Chris ended up with "See you soon and a big thank you for your kindness." We warmly recommend this establishment.
Michel - Mar 22


Our go to choice for friends visiting us in Eastbourne The breakfasts are amazing as is the hospitality. We have frequent visitors from The States and Europe and Ravillious is our preferred accommodation choice for them. They always comment on the warmth of welcome and the quality of the food.
Paul - Apr 2022


Excellent Lovely hotel in a brilliant location, just a couple of minutes’ walk from the sea, restaurants and shops. Our room was spacious, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was delicious, with quality ingredients. The owners, Chris & Caroline, were friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended.
Jill - Apr 2022


Highly recommended We had a wonderful 2-night stay at the Ravilious Hotel in Eastbourne. It was 5-star on all counts, comfort, cleanliness, breakfast, location, value. It is located about a 5 minute walk from the beach, theatres, town centre yet is in a very quiet area. We highly recommend the Ravilious and the owners Chris and Caroline. Thank you for a super stay.
cdkit- June 22


Always the best! My preferred and only place to stay in Eastbourne. Friendly, functional, well located, easy access everywhere, no issues whatsoever! great breakfast, great service. Nothing to complain about! Will continue coming back!
Marcel- Jun 22


Incredible hotel! We had an amazing stay at The Ravilious Hotel! The rooms are fabulous and everything is immaculate and modern. The situation of the hotel is ideal and it is within walking distance of the town and also the beach. We loved it there. Caroline and Chris couldn’t do enough for us, they were so kind and were exceptionally caring for my elderly relative who was with us. The breakfasts were wonderful and there were lots of choices and it was all cooked perfectly. This is the best hotel we’ve stayed in and would highly recommend it. Caroline, Chris and the staff were so friendly too and we are looking forward to our next stay there when we go to Eastbourne again.
57dave54 July 22


B and B doesn’t get better than this! We were on our way to Sussex before I started to look for accommodation for that night! How lucky we were that there was an attic room available at Ravilious. I must say that I hadn’t expected anything more than normal, as I was just relieved that we’d have a roof over our head and a bed to sleep in. It was so much more! From the first moment, I realised that we were going to remember this place, as our welcome was so warm and the other guests so very happily chatting together in the breakfast room/bar. Our hosts, Chris and Caroline, couldn’t have done more to make our stay memorable and perfect and, as we were house hunting, Chris also gave us lots of good recommendations, not only for places to have dinner but also places to live! Our room was perfect for us but quite a work-out with about 60 stairs to get up to the attic, so choose your room carefully if you don’t like steps! For us, it just provided a work-out without having to go to the gym! The rooms are all imaginatively and artistically decorated - all differently, I believe. Ours was an attic room but very spacious despite that. The bed was very comfortable and the sheets of crisp cotton. Everything was top notch, including breakfast and I only wished that we could have stayed for more than one night. I feel that we shall be back!!
SuzieQR July 22


Modern family feeling kinda place! Excellent and couldn’t be topped on our 2 week holiday in the UK. This is an amazing accommodation. Starts with the fantastic hospitality of the owners Chris & Caroline. Chris is Mr Knowledge on Eastbourne & surrounding areas. Very helpful if you are there for cliff walks, pubs & restaurants etc. Caroline is so lovely and our morning catch ups were great. Both are great fun to spend time with. We were made to feel as if we were home. What more could you want on holiday away from home? Bed was so comfy, if we didn’t plan long days trekking, we would probably just laze about between the beach and the room. Room was gorgeous, nicely decorated with ensuite shower room/toilet. A good size too with biccies and tea/coffee making options. There is also a bar should you wish to indulge. Lovely front patio and back garden area for usage too. Minutes walk to the beach front/pier. Brekkie was delicious! no complaints from us piggies. Opposite the accommodation is the International Tennis tournament arena.
Dawn July 22


Quiet, in the centre, friendly and comfortable: perfect! Perfect location! Quiet but also in the town centre. The owners are so helpful, friendly and welcoming. We felt comfortable from the first second. Breakfast was fantastic and fresh. The bed was comfortable and the room design really beautiful. Nothing to complain about at all.
JCM July 22


Just Brilliant!! Fantastic little Birthday break for my man! Chris and Caroline were so warm and welcoming, we had a lovely bright and spotlessly clean room, that led to a perfect nights sleep! Also well appointed toiletries, soft fluffy towels and a well stocked tea tray. We joined Caroline for a quick pre-theatre drink at the bar in the evening and Chris knocked us up the perfect full English in the morning!!! What more could you need? A big thank you for a wonderful stay. Nina & Ian
Nina July 22


ABSOLUTELY THE BEST HOTEL WE HAVE EVER STAYED IN & THE MOST WELCOMING!! What can I say but we stayed here for a base to see the Airbourne show with 2 other groups of friends staying here for a long weeked. We were all blown away by the helpfulness and most friendly welcoming by Chris and Caroline. We were presented with a chilled bottle of water to take up to our room (No 4 - first floor) on arrival and we also could have fresh milk on request (im fussy as do not like UHT milk) which was a great thumbs up from me as not many hotels do this. Everything about this hotel is thought out with care and a lot of thought and is stunning. Rooms were comfy, spotless and beautifully decorated. Lovely selection of biscuits in our room including a chocolate Tunnock wafer which is a first for us ! This made everyone in our party smile! The breakfast was deliciously cooked and plentiful with lots of fresh fruit too! The bacon and sausages were very tasty. Chris and Caroline were brilliant hosts and so friendly which made our stay perfect in every way. The both go above and beyond to make your stay perfect always giving you helpful tips etc for eating out! We even sat out in the back garden with our friends and Chris came running out to us with cushions to put on the seats to ensure we were comfortable. Another bonus staying here is the area is quieter than staying along the seafront at other hotels so you get a great nights sleep. We will definitely be back for another stay in future and recommend to others but in the meantime wish this GEM of a place every success for the future as you both deserve it! From your very happy
DEBSTAR2013 - Aug 2022


Wonderful stay at The Ravilious Hotel My husband and I stayed at The Ravilious Hotel for a few nights with friends. It was a special treat for them. It was amazing, Caroline and Chris are so friendly and helpful. They couldn’t do enough for us. The rooms were beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Especially rooms 8 and 10 the executive rooms. Breakfast is not to be missed. The rear garden was lovely, so quiet and peaceful. This hotel deserves a 10 at the very least.
Chrissie - Aug 22


Excellent From minute you arrive to leaving host cannot do enough for you. We had executive room and it’s worth the extra absolutely beautiful with view over tennis courts. Breakfast was first class. Would recommend this b&b to anyone who wants to stay in Eastbourne and be treated to excellent rooms and customer service.
Corrine- Sep 22


absolutely outstanding. everything. spotlessly clean, happy to help, staff impeccable and so chatty and friendly, breakfast in bed upon request and acquired to mine and my fiancés fussy nature with food! room and view absolutely gorgeous. booked another stay while in the room for the end of the month! I want to live here!!!! Negatives -that I don’t live here 🤣
Tonie- Sep 22


Love…. Love….love! The best place in Eastbourne! Caroline and Chris are amazing! Nothing is too much trouble, cocktails are amazing! Rooms are spotless and the breakfast is second to NONE! You need to Stay for at least a week to try all the breakfast choices, and I can seriously say you won’t be disappointed with any choice! Can’t wait to come back! See you soon!
pigletdoesNY - Oct 22


Beautiful hotel, wonderful helpful hosts. Hotel is in a great location in Eastbourne, our lovely room was beautifully kept, spotlessly clean. Quality linen and towels. Breakfast had a good choice and was cooked to perfection. Caroline and Chris were so helpful nothing too much trouble. We had a nights stay for the second time and won’t stay anywhere else if visiting the area.
Suzanne C - Oct 22


Excellent place to stay Chris and Christine are amazing hosts. The rooms are extremely comfortable and beautifully decorated. Excellent restaurants nearby, and only minutes walk away from the Theatre and town centre. After a day out, you can enjoy a drink in the well stocked dining room/bar. Breakfast has a very good variety of hot, cold and coeliac gluten free choices. It is rare that a hotel has such locally produced gluten free sausages and produce available. It would definitely be our first choice who staying in the area again.
David - Nov 22


best ever boutique hotel We have been fortunate enough to have travelled extensively around the globe and stayed in some of the best places too. RAVILIOUS HOTEL IS THE BEST. Aside from the to die for breakfast we had (exceptional menu) the room was just ace! I doubt there is anything in Eastbourne or possibly the UK that matches the highest quality for the price :)
forestpalms Dec 22


Eastbourne’s finest First time visitors to Eastbourne, and what a find! Everything perfect - rooms, cleanliness, our hosts Chris & Caroline, location (close proximity to Conquest Theatre and shops/restaurants and a short walk to the seafront but very peaceful), and of course the breakfast. Couldn’t fault anything. The only downside of such high praise is we might let too many people know how good it is and therefore find it fully booked when we want to return (as indeed we will!)
HeRo71 Feb 23


Top Draw Our first visit to Eastbourne and this lovely hotel and what a great choice This hotel and the hosts really deserve the reviews they receive is was a fantastic stay without a fault Ideally situated for the seafront town and many close restaurants Our room was spacious comfortable and had everything you needed. Special mention for the breakfast probably one of the best we’ve had in any hotel we have stayed in So well done Chris and Caroline we won’t hesitate to recommend your hotel to friends and family and hopefully we will see you again in the future
dav88uk Feb 23


Relaxing, comfortable, clean, quiet, friendly & perfect The meet & greet was very welcoming. The room was freshly decorated, stunning bathroom, comfortable room, very clean, beautifully made bed, tea, coffee, etc provided. The breakfast & service was everything & more.
Suzanne Feb 23


Beautiful property and great hosts, highly recommended! Although we travel regularly to Eastbourne this was our first time staying at the Ravilious Not only was it an excellent experience, it did exceed our expectations: Chris and Caroline are very welcoming hosts, it is a beautifully presented building, the rooms are spacious, spotlessly clean and the decorations are very stylish. High quality materials have been used everywhere and the attention to detail is impressive. The breakfast was very tasty and generous. We had an excellent and very comfortable stay and will certainly try to come back again. Thank you Chris and Caroline for your care and great hospitality.
883dorotheak- March 2023


Top top top amazing hotel. Excellent. Outstanding. Amazing. This was the fourth time staying here. As always the welcome was warm and friendly. The room was amazing and the big man size bath in the bay window was so relaxing. Beeakfast cooked with the freshest of produce. Can’t speak highly enough able Chris & Caroline. Great place. Will continue to stay when ever I can.
Paulm- March 2023


Excellent. I would highly recommend The Victorian building is beautiful as well as being modern and contemporary inside. Breakfast was excellent. Chris and Caroline were great hosts.
Kerrie March 2023


Perfect The hotel was beautiful, so modern and the room was amazing. It felt luxurious! The breakfast was lovely, we couldn’t fault it at all. Lots to choose from. Chris & Caroline were so so lovely and welcoming too. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and I hope to visit again myself in the summer!
Alisha March 2023


Best Ever Hotel How many times have we returned here ? I’ve lost count ! Lovely b & b, breakfast is amazing, my husband loves the ’full english’ and I have the DELICIOUS eggs benedict. We’ll be returning later in the year. Chris and Caroline certainly make us feel at home. Cannot recommend enough.
Sally - April 23


5 Stars all the way! Highly recommend in every way. Decorated to a very high standard, extremely clean. Lovely room with amenities (kettle & hot drinks tray/bottle of water/biscuits/iron). Outside seating area to relax & enjoy a drink. Great location within easy walking distance to sea front/shops/restaurants & cafes. Most importantly our hosts, Chris & Caroline were so warm/welcoming & helpful and provided a very extensive breakfast menu, that was delicious & cooked to a high standard. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we would highly recommend & will definitely be returning.
Kentchick Apr 23


Wow - what a find!! Excellent, first rate, wonderful! Cannot praise this hotel enough, what a find! Location is excellent, accommodation was way above our expectations. Room was fantastic and so clean and so many extra little touches. Hosts are wonderful, food was excellent and just felt spoilt. Fantastic hotel, can’t recommend enough and will definitely stay here again, made for a fabulous visit
Davis Apr 23


The perfect boutique hotel What a great time we had at Ravilious! After a 4 day walk (South Downs Way) we could totally relax in a spacious and clean room and enjoy there delicious breakfast. Chris and Caroline made us feel very welcome and gave us great tips on where to go and what to do!
Simon - May23


A hotel that is worthwhile We were passing through and had planned a stop in Eastbourne. The hotel exceeded all our expectations. The beautiful rooms were very large and clean. The two owners of the hotel were very friendly and gave us some good tips for our stay. The breakfast menu was very large and the food was excellent. Even for my girlfriend, who is a vegetarian, it was absolutely no problem. We will definitely plan a stop in Eastbourne again on our next trip through England and of course at the Ravilious Hotel. Thank you very much for the hospitality.
Dominique - May 23


Beautiful hotel with owners that go above and beyond I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel - such an extraordinarily welcoming place with hosts that go above and beyond. Beautiful place, extremely clean, lovely breakfast, and excellent advice on food and things to do in the area. I heard the owners give very targeted advice to different guests based on careful listening and observation of what their guests seemed interested in, which i have rarely seen. Such a great find!
Coastal 76341 - May 23


Particularly unique Ravilious B@B with very nice sweet owners. Search no futher. Without a doubt a 10 out of a 10 ! A very warm homecoming to Eastborne, Great host, who take care of their guests with great dedication. Nice we could talk to them about the area, what we could visit. The property is uniquely beautiful. The room and bathroom..the decor …the towels .’’the breakfast. We felt very much at home here. Everything conceived and executed to the perfection. The location is superb. For us 1 address if we go to Eastborne again. A thousand thanks for these beautiful days,,in your amazing Ravilious B@B in Eastborne. The most beautiful stay we ever had …for us it was a 5 stars stay. Warm regards from our family.
Heidi May 23


Out goes Premier inn - hello Ravilious!! I thoroughly enjoyed my stay whilst away on business, I have been staying away for work for many years and after several bad experiences it made me very cautious on booking outside of the corporate hotel system, Ravilious Hotel has restored my faith in independent hotels. From booking through to leaving the next day it was such a simple and very friendly process, I even booked the wrong day to begin with and the process of moving my booking was simple, Lovely bedroom although I was on the top floor with a few flights of stairs the view and sea breeze was lovely. Very clean and comfortable and a rare treat for me was having breakfast as I’m usually away early but they offered an early breakfast slot for me, the breakfast was a traditional English and very well cooked and clean with lots of other choices to go at too! I even got a takeaway coffee to walk to the station with. I will be back again, sorry Premier Inn ( you stole my electric toothbrush anyway ;) ) HELLO 👋Ravilious thank you Caroline and Chris for being great owners- you can feel they love being owners of this beautiful hotel!
Johnathan June 23


A Wonderful Find…… Another 5 star review for the Ravilious would appear somewhat otiose [look it up - I had to] but would be completely accurate and deserved. My wife and I stayed in one of the attic rooms, as this was the only availability when we booked. “Attic room” does not do the room justice, as it was very spacious - larger than a lot of hotel rooms I have stayed in - with a lovely sofa to sit on and was otherwise tastefully furnished and well equipped. The room was spotlessly clean. The location of the Ravilious would be hard to beat. Close to the beach, theatres, restaurants, shops, bus stops, train station, etc. It is in a quiet street and very peaceful. It would be hard to find two more personable hosts than Caroline and Chris. There is an air of efficiency and effortless charm from both, but you do not achieve this standard without hard work and it is clear that they both enjoy what they do and care about the service they offer. Breakfast was lovely and there was a fine selection of both hot and cold items. Not to be overlooked is the seating area at the front of the Ravilious which is very pleasant and a veritable sun trap. We had a very relaxing stay and will certainly be back
Paul J JULY23


Great stay Absolutely excellent room was first class and breakfast was amazing .Caroline and Chris were perfect hosts and go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need.Town centre easy walk has the beach front easy access to plentiful restaurants as well
Tony - July 23


It was perfect! A really exceptionally great B&B! Great location, chic decor and the breakfast was remarkably good. Particularly noteworthy is the hospitality of Chris and Caroline, who have provided us with restaurant recommendations and numerous tips. Thank you for the nice conversations and the wonderful days in Eastbourne!
Anja July23


Absolutely everything. They run a good ship.....wouldn’t ask them to change a thing Rooms are amazing,breakfast is divine and Chris and Caroline are wonderful friendly people Nothing not to like about it Everything is faultless o
KAYE - July23


Brilliant hotel, brilliant hosts! It had been over 5 years since we last stayed, but it’s only gone from strength to strength under new ownership. The hotel is lovely - really well located with spacious and clean rooms. Breakfast is delicious and has a range of options on offer. Chris & Caroline also made the stay. From the warm welcome and great service to really useful local tips. We took their advice on a different walking route along part of the South Downs and are so glad we did! Cannot fault anything and will 100% be coming back.
FloatingKites Aug 2023


Favourite place to stay in Eastbourne Our second stay at the Ravilious was as lovely as the first. Chris and Caroline are so welcoming, the garden at the front is a lovely place to sit. The breakfast is excellent - a lovely selection of cooked dishes as well as fruit, yoghurt etc. The hotel is small and the attention to detail fantastic. The room we stay in is large, the bed is very comfortable and lovely treats are included - a good selection of hot drinks along with fresh water and biscuits and Tunnocks (!) replenished every day. The hotel is in an excellent location, very quiet but only a few minutes’ walk from anywhere you want to go. Can’t wait until we go again…
Londontraveller033 Aug 23


Well appointed and attractively decorated hotel with top notch hosts. The room I stayed in (the attic room) was very clean and conveniently laid out with thoughtful design touches like a self-locking door and main light switches by both door and bed. There were thoughtful touches such as complimentary toiletries and as selection of biscuits to have with your tea including Tunnocks marshmallow teacakes. The en-suite bathroom was similarly well laid out with modern and stylish fixtures and fittings. The rainfall showerhead was just the thing the morning after a walk across the Seven Sisters. The breakfast selection was excellent with all the staples you might expect and also some surprising alternatives, freshly cooked to order. There was nothing I did not like about the Ravilous. Chris and Caroline were perfect hosts: responsive to individual needs and being genuinely interested in making your stay as comfortable and leisurely as possible.
Val Aug23